Albion Flour Mill
Sadly another piece of Brisbane’s history has been destroyed by fire. The former Defiance Flour site that was due to be redeveloped was demolished overnight after an extensive fire destroyed the derelict building. Almost 30 firefighters battled the blaze. The demolition crew moved in late last night and started to bring down the remnants of the old mill. The Albion Mill was one of the most iconic sights of inner city Brisbane. It was a familiar site on the Albion landscape and will be missed by many local residents.
On the 7 November 1930, the Brisbane Courier newspaper advertised a proposal for a new flour mill at Bridge-street, Albion, it was to be erected for Messrs Gillespie Bros. (Queensland), Ltd. The architect was Francis B. Hall. The Albion flour mill was built in the depression in the 1930's. It began packaging self-raising flour for 'White Wings' in 1957 and the two silos, those tall, white and blue cylinders that defined the local landscape came along in the 1960's. Many local people were present last night to see this Brisbane icon bite the dust.
Janette Garrad – Original Content Technician, State Library of Queensland