State Library of Queensland Medal

The State Library of Queensland Medal recognises the valuable contribution and dedication of former staff and their work at the Library.  

2020 was the first year the State Library Medal was awarded. The inaugural recipient was Ms Dianne Byrne. You can watch Dianne's acceptance speech in the 2020 Queensland Memory Awards video below by skipping to timing 19:48.

Dianne was a longstanding and highly respected staff member who made significant contributions to State Library. These contributions included the acquisition of major collection items including the portrait of Lord Lamington, eighth Governor of Queensland, curating six successful exhibitions, researching and coordinating publications such as Between the Covers and A travelling photographer in Colonial Queensland – the work of William Boag.  

In 2017 Dianne was the recipient of Gordon Darling Foundation grant that enabled travel to the UK to build the State Library’s collection, establishing a network of contacts for future collection opportunities.  

Dianne was an employee of State Library from 1984 until 2018.

2020 Queensland Memory Awards announcement of recipients video. Skip to timing 19:48 to watch Dianne Byrne's acceptance speech.