Queensland Memory Awards

A range of research fellowships and awards are available annually as part of the Queensland Memory Awards. The Awards recognise the valuable contribution of individuals and organisations from across Queensland make to the investigation, preservation and celebration of Queensland’s rich history.

State Library invites applicants to respond to our unique collections and resources including manuscripts, maps, music, newspapers, oral histories and rare printed material. Researchers and creatives from all backgrounds and disciplines are encouraged to apply.

Applications and nominations for the 2019 Queensland Memory Awards have now closed. All applications will be advised of the results of their applications from Friday 10 May 2019.

The recipients of the 2019 Queensland Memory Awards will be announced on Wednesday 29 May 2019.

For information about each of the fellowships, awards and residencies, including past recipients or to apply for a fellowship, please select from the list below.


John Oxley Library Fellowship

As one of Queensland’s most prestigious research awards for over 10 years, the John Oxley Library Fellowship offers researchers, writers, historians and content creators the opportunity to discover Queensland’s rich history utilising the resources of the John Oxley Library and State Library of Queensland. The fellowship recipient will receive a stipend of $20,000.

Peters - Arctic Delicacy Co Ltd building

Place Making Fellowship

The Place Making Fellowship is an opportunity to discover the legends, stories and histories behind beloved Queensland sites.

Premises of Canada Cycle and Motor Agency Ltd, Brisbane, Queensland

Queensland Business Leaders Hall of Fame Fellowship

The Queensland Business Leaders Hall of Fame Fellowship is awarded annually to support a research project that uses the rich resources of the John Oxley Library and contributes to the creation of new knowledge about Queensland's business or economic history.

Image courtesy of Sam Cranstoun

Mittelheuser Scholar in Residence

The Mittelheuser Scholar in Residence is generously supported by Dr Cathryn Mittelheuser AM through the Queensland Library Foundation. Valued at $15,000, the residency is awarded annually to a leading thinker in the cultural sector, whose work gives rise to innovative new services or strategies.

2017 Queensland Memory Award Community History Award Recipient

John Oxley Library Award and John Oxley Library Community History Award

The John Oxley Library Award and the John Oxley Library Community History Award are gifted by the Library Board of Queensland and the Queensland Library Foundation and given annually to individuals and local community organisations for distinction and innovation in the documenting and sharing of Queensland’s history.

Lee Remick, Mark Ross ; Geoffrey Titley ; Brisbane : Abel records? 1979

Letty Katts Award

The Letty Katts Award supports the research and documenting of Queensland’s music history. It gives a musician, composer, scholar or researcher the opportunity to study, experiment and explore new thinking in their art/study, leading to the creation of new knowledge or work/s inspired by Queensland’s music history. The recipient receives a stipend of $5,000. This award is biennial and will be awarded again in 2020.  

QANZAC 100 Fellowships

Four (4) Fellowships were awarded annually during the Q ANZAC 100: Memories for a New Generation project between 2015-2018. Valued at $15,000 each, these fellowships supported research projects that uncovered and explored untold stories about Queensland’s experience during the First World or other significant military campaign from the last 100 years. Q Anzac 100 fellowships are no longer offered.