The State Library of Queensland partners with councils across Queensland to deliver library services. There are currently more than 320 public libraries, RLQs (Rural Libraries Queensland) and Indigenous Knowledge Centres (IKCs) across Queensland. IKCs are library services specifically delivered by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander councils across Queensland.

In the late 1990s and early 2000s the concept of library services in discrete Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities was born under the State Library’s Future Directions Policy. In 2002, the first IKCs were opened in seven communities, at:

  • Aurukun
  • Erub
  • Lockhart River
  • Mabauig
  • New Mapoon
  • Pormpuraaw
  • Wujal Wujal

Since 2002, other IKCs have been opened and at the end of 2021, there were 24 IKCs across Queensland. This year we will celebrate each IKC, with particular emphasis on the seven IKCs celebrating 20 years of operation and provision of library services to their communities.

In 2022, two new IKCs will be officially opened at Injinoo, operated by Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council, and Mapoon, operated by Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council. By mid-year, the IKC network will grow to 26 IKCs, operated by thirteen Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island Shire and Regional Councils.

Watch this space for more information about each IKC as we celebrate their special day.


We welcome relevant, respectful comments.
Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.
We also welcome direct feedback via Contact Us.
You may also want to ask our librarians.

Be the first to write a comment