Queensland Literary Awards

Nominations for the 2022 Queensland Literary Awards are now closed.


The Queensland Literary Awards showcase outstanding authors from across Australia, celebrating emerging and established authors across a range of genres. State Library of Queensland is proud to manage the awards in collaboration with sponsors, the literary community, and industry partners. 

On offer are eight national prizes for outstanding published books by Australian writers, illustrators and creators. This includes the $25,000 Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance which highlights a uniquely Queensland story.  

Published book awards and prizes

  • Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance - $25,000 
  • Fiction Book Award - $15,000 
  • Non-Fiction Book Award - $15,000 
  • Young Adult Book Award - $15,000 
  • Children’s Book Award - $15,000  
  • Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection - $15,000 
  • Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection - $15,000 
  • People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award - $10,000 

Development awards and prizes

Development awards are also on offer including the David Unaipon Award and Glendower Award for unpublished manuscripts, and opportunities for Queensland writers only - three Queensland Writers Fellowships and two Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards. 

  • 3 x Queensland Writers Fellowships - $19,500 each 
  • David Unaipon Award for an Emerging Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Writer - $15,000 
  • Glendower Award for an Emerging Queensland Writer - $15,000 
  • 2 x Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards - $12,500 each 

Nominations for all awards closed at 5pm AEST on Friday 29 April 2022.

Get in touch

Want to join our mailing list? Sign up and stay up-to-date.

Follow the Queensland Literary Awards on Facebook and Twitter.

To contact State Library of Queensland about the Queensland Literary Awards, please email us at qla@slq.qld.gov.au.

More Queensland Literary Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

Find the answer to your FAQ.

The judging process

Learn how winners and finalists are selected.

Latest news

Read the latest media releases.

2021 winners and finalists

Get to know the writers and stories from 2021.

2020 winners and finalists

Uncover the stories and writers from 2020.

Queensland Writers Fellowship

Celebrate the success of the Queensland Writers Fellowship recipients.  

Major partners

Category sponsors

Principal benefactors

The Glendower Award for an Emerging Queensland Writer is supported by Jenny Summerson through the Queensland Library Foundation.

Children's Book Award is supported by Susan Hocking and Ian Mackie, and their family, through The Hocking Mackie Trust at APS Foundation.

The Queensland Writers Fellowships are supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and State Library of Queensland.


Help support writers

The Queensland Literary Awards are supported through the Queensland Library Foundation. You can be part of this celebration of literature and help nurture Australian writers at all stages of their careers.