Skip to main content
  • Home
  • /

  • Past fellowship winners

Past fellowship winners

Learn about authors who have produced work as a Queensland Writers Fellow.

About the Queensland Writers Fellowships

Since 2013, three Queensland authors have been awarded a Queensland Writers Fellowship annually. This award is intended to provide these authors with the necessary resources to create new work and advance their careers. The fellowship offers a cash prize of $15,000, along with career development funds of up to $4,500. This program aims to provide targeted support for authors, enabling them to invest in their creative practice, write their next book, and reach new audiences.

Applicants to the Queensland Writers Fellowships submit a plan for a 12-month writing project to work on for a calendar year. Applicants must be Queensland residents, or born in Queensland and able to demonstrate continuing strong ties with the state. A submission will include a proposal and project plan that clearly identifies the key project outcomes across the 12-month Fellowship period. Project plans, budget and milestones are assessed by an experienced judging panel, as part of the Queensland Literary Awards. Applicants can be emerging or established writers in any genre. 

Queensland Writers Centre (QWC) manages the professional development component, devising a plan with each author for the calendar year of their Fellowship. The goal is to map out professional development that enhances a writer's current work in a tangible way, helps them meet their project milestones, and enriches their overall practice.

Past Fellows have enlisted the help of QWC staff help to find one-on-one mentors, attend short courses, travel for research trips, attend a writers' festival, or take up a writing residency. 

How to apply

The Queensland Writers Fellowships are run as part of the annual Queensland Literary Awards. Detailed information, eligibility, terms and conditions, and application forms can be found in the official Award guidelines each year. 

Nominations for the Queensland Literary Awards usually open in March each year. 

Current and past Fellows

The Queensland Writers Fellowships are supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and the State Library of Queensland.