Celebrating 20 years of Indigenous Knowledge Centres

The State Library of Queensland partners with councils across Queensland to deliver library services. There are currently more than 320 public libraries, RLQs (Rural Libraries Queensland) and Indigenous Knowledge Centres (IKCs) across Queensland. IKCs are library services specifically delivered by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander councils across Queensland.

In the late 1990s and early 2000’s the concept of library services in discrete Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities was born under the State Library’s Future Directions Policy.  In 2002, the first IKCs were opened in seven communities, at Aurukun, Erub, Lockhart River, Mabauig, New Mapoon, Pormpuraaw and Wujal Wujal.

Since 2002, other IKCs have been opened and at the end of 2021, there were 24 IKCs across Queensland. This year we will celebrate each IKC, with particular emphasis on the seven IKCs celebrating 20 years of operation and service delivery. 

In 2022, two new IKCs will be officially opened and grow the network to 26 IKCs, operated by thirteen Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island Shire and Regional Councils.