Letty Katts Award

The Letty Katts Award supports the research and documenting of Queensland’s music history. It gives a musician, composer, scholar or researcher the opportunity to study, experiment and explore new thinking in their art/study, leading to the creation of new knowledge or work/s inspired by Queensland’s music history. The recipient will receive a stipend of $5,000.

2018 Recipient - Professor Peter Roennfeldt

Professor Peter Roennfeldt is the recipient of the 2018 Letty Katts Award for his project Brisbane’s Albert Hall 1901-1968: celebrating memory and heritage of a major performance venue . This year 2018, marks the 50th anniversary of the demise of Albert Hall, which for nearly 70 years was a major venue servicing Brisbane’s performing arts community. The project aims to capture and make visible the cultural contribution of Albert Hall through the collections of State Library of Queensland and memories of musicians and others associated with the venue.

View previous winners of the Award

Enquiries or requests for further information should be directed to the Project/Support Officer, State Library of Queensland on 07 3840 7879 or email Fellowships@slq.qld.gov.au .

2018 Letty Katts Fellow Professor Peter Roennfeldt’s Research Reveals presentation where he presented his research on the history and legacy of Albert Hall in its 50th anniversary. His research project Brisbane’s Albert Hall 1901–1968: celebrating memory and heritage of a major performance venue showcases the legacy of the much-loved venue, home to countless concerts, theatrical productions, film evenings, eisteddfod competitions, lectures, meetings, conferences and political rallies and thousands of memories.