Skip to main content
  • Home
  • /

  • John Oxley Library Award

John Oxley Library Award

The John Oxley Library Award recognises an individual who had made an outstanding contribution to the appreciation of Queensland history. The award is granted annually to promote the value of pursuing historical knowledge and its role in shaping Queenslanders understanding of themselves and each other. 

Supported by the Queensland Library Foundation.

2022 John Oxley Library Award

The 2022 John Oxley Library Award was awarded to Dr Jackie Huggins.

Dr Jackie Huggins AM FAHA, a member of the Bidjara and Birri Gubba Juru peoples, is currently leading the work for Treaty/Treaties in Queensland. In popular demand as a speaker on Aboriginal issues, she is a well-known historian and author, with articles published widely in Australia and internationally. Her acclaimed biography of her mother, Auntie Rita, was published in 1994. Keeping it in the family, in 2022 her biography of her father, Jack of Hearts: QX11594 was published.

Jackie was the former Co-Chair National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples, former member of the National Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation, Co-Chair Reconciliation Australia, the State Library Board of Queensland and the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies. She was Co-Commissioner for Queensland for the Inquiry into the Separation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children from Their Families.

Jackie’s outcomes and behaviors embodied the award’s selection criteria of significance, impact, professionalism and leadership.

Jackie talks more about the importance of documenting First Nations history in the video below: