About the Foundation

The Queensland Library Foundation was established on 24 June 1987 as an entity of the Library Board of Queensland, in accordance to the powers defined by the Libraries Act 1988, and launched to the public on 5 May 1988. It is a not-for-profit company, Limited by Guarantee, registered under the Corporations Act 2001, and holds Deductible Gift Recipient status (DGR Items 1 and 4).

Since 1988 more than $24 million has been raised through donations, sponsorships, and grants to assist State Library of Queensland to acquire, conserve and make accessible heritage collections, and deliver library services and programs throughout Queensland.

Contributions to the Foundation have enabled the acquisition of historical and culturally significant items; research and learning through Fellowships and Awards; the digitisation of moving image, audio and paper-based collections for discovery in Queensland and beyond; the expansion of programs and collection tours into regional Queensland; the purchase of equipment and machinery for creative endeavours; and the refurbishment of community spaces at State Library in South Brisbane.

Our work would not be possible without the dedication of donors, volunteers, sponsors, grantors, and State Library staff who come together with the common vision to Inspire possibilities through knowledge, stories and creativity.

Thank you to all our supporters and donors for your trust and belief in our work – it means the world to us.


Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young PSM, Governor of Queensland is the 27th Governor of Queensland and representative of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queensland’s Head of State. View the Governor's full biography via the Government House website here

Foundation Council

Ms Helen Brodie FAICD (President) is a company director and corporate adviser with a proven track record in leadership, management, strategy, corporate governance and transformation. Helen’s experience spans more than 30 years, leading diverse teams through change programs.

Ms Courtney Talbot (Vice President) is a company director who holds voluntary positions in various community and arts organisations. Courtney was awarded the Queensland Community Foundation’s Emerging Philanthropist of the Year Award for 2018. She is also a member of Philanthropy Australia’s New Generation of Giving program.

Ms Helen Barnard is a former secondary school educator. Helen has over 20 years’ experience working with community and not-for-profit organisations within the education sector.

Ms Luvisa Grierson is a company director and senior legal adviser with more than 20 years’ experience in general commercial law, governance, technology transactions, risk mitigation and dispute resolution.  Luvisa has worked in private practice and as in-house legal counsel in New York, London and Sydney.

Mr Tony Kinivan is a financial adviser with Morgan Stanley with more than 25 years’ experience in financial markets globally. Tony specialises in advising not-for-profit organisations, social enterprises and philanthropic private clients to achieve their mission.

Mr Ken MacDonald AM practiced corporate/ resources law with Allens for over 40 years, heading the Queensland Practice at that firm,  and was a Queensland Resource Industry Ambassador.  He has also served as a director of several companies, including QIC and MIM , and was awarded the 2017 Queensland Gold Medal by the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Neil Summerson AM FCA FAICD is the former Chairman of the Bank of Queensland, a non-executive director of several public and private companies and has a particular interest in Corporate Governance and Risk Management.

Professor Andrew Griffiths (Chairperson, Library Board of Queensland) is the Executive Dean, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law at The University of Queensland. Andrew is an internationally recognised scholar in the field of corporate change, innovation and sustainability.

Ms Vicki McDonald AM FALIA (State Librarian and Chief Executive Officer, State Library of Queensland) is a respected senior executive with extensive experience in the library sector, state and local governments and tertiary education.  She previously held senior positions at the State Library of New South Wales and Queensland University of Technology.