Young Writers Award past winners

Since 1998, the Young Writers Award has recognised and celebrated a diversity of young and exciting Queensland voices. The competition helps young authors launch their literary careers, with many winners and finalists going on to publish books and win major national prizes

Previous winners and runners up

  • Shastra Deo, ALS Gold Medallist and author of the poetry collection The Agonist (UQP).
  • Rebecca Jessen, the multi-award winning poet and author of the verse-novel Gap (UQP).
  • Chris Somerville, author of the short story collection We Are Not the Same Anymore (UQP).
  • Tara June Winch, author of two short story collections Swallow the Air (UQP) and After the Carnage (UQP), and the novel The Yield (Penguin Random House).  
  • Christopher Currie, author of the YA novel Clancy of the Undertow (Text) and Commonwealth Book Prize finalist The Ottoman Motel (Text).
  • Benjamin Law, multi-disciplinary author, screenwriter and journalist. Ben’s books include The Family Law (Black Inc.), Gaysia (Black Inc.) and Law School (Brow Books).
  • Romy Ash, author of Floundering (Text).

Past winners

Paper Lands by Winner Tristan Hurree, published by Griffith Review

Teacups by Runner up Zarin Nuzhat

From 2001 to 2011 the Maureen Donahoe Encouragement Award was given in memory of the late Maureen Donahoe, a promising young writer who was the first runner up in the Young Writers Award 1998.