Young Writers Award past winners

Since 1998, the Young Writers Award has recognised and celebrated a diversity of young and exciting Queensland voices. The competition helps young authors launch their literary careers, with many winners and finalists going on to publish books and win major national prizes

Previous winners and runners up

Past winners

Paper Lands by Winner Tristan Hurree, published by Griffith Review

Teacups by Runner up Zarin Nuzhat

From 2001 to 2011 the Maureen Donahoe Encouragement Award was given in memory of the late Maureen Donahoe, a promising young writer who was the first runner up in the Young Writers Award 1998.