Sovereign Stories: 10 years of black&write!

Next on

Today
9am–5pm

Booking

Booking required?
No
Cost
Free

Location

Storytelling is at the heart of being human and sparks important connections between audiences and storytellers.  

Australia has the oldest continuous storytelling tradition on this planet. But for centuries, the humanity of First Nations peoples has been hidden behind stereotypes, myths and prejudices. 

Sovereign Stories: 10 years of black&write! brings together a decade of storytelling from some of Australia’s brightest First Nations voices and explores how writers and editors are driving social change within the publishing industry for future generations.    

Delve into the process writers go through, writing inspiration, and what the “mysterious” editing process can involve.  

Celebrate a decade of creative collaborations between authors and editors who have been part of the black&write! Project – the first program of its kind – and discover some truly special First Nations stories. 

Important COVID-19 information

In line with the Queensland Government’s COVID-19 restrictions, from 17 December 2021 unvaccinated people aged 16 years and over will be unable to enter Queensland Government-owned libraries, galleries and museums. This includes State Library of Queensland. 

We will continue following Queensland Government advice. Given the public health directions are subject to change, please check our alerts page before your visit for the latest information.

Upcoming dates

Day
Time
Wed 26 Jan
9am–5pm
Thu 27 Jan
9am–5pm
Fri 28 Jan
9am–5pm
Sat 29 Jan
9am–5pm
Sun 30 Jan
9am–5pm
Mon 31 Jan
9am–5pm
Tue 1 Feb
9am–5pm
Wed 2 Feb
9am–5pm
Thu 3 Feb
9am–5pm
Fri 4 Feb
9am–5pm
Sat 5 Feb
9am–5pm
Sun 6 Feb
9am–5pm
Mon 7 Feb
9am–5pm
Tue 8 Feb
9am–5pm
Wed 9 Feb
9am–5pm
Thu 10 Feb
9am–5pm
Fri 11 Feb
9am–5pm
Sat 12 Feb
9am–5pm
Sun 13 Feb
9am–5pm
Mon 14 Feb
9am–5pm
Tue 15 Feb
9am–5pm
Wed 16 Feb
9am–5pm
Thu 17 Feb
9am–5pm
Fri 18 Feb
9am–5pm
Sat 19 Feb
9am–5pm
Sun 20 Feb
9am–5pm
Mon 21 Feb
9am–5pm
Tue 22 Feb
9am–5pm
Wed 23 Feb
9am–5pm
Thu 24 Feb
9am–5pm
Fri 25 Feb
9am–5pm
Sat 26 Feb
9am–5pm
Sun 27 Feb
9am–5pm
Mon 28 Feb
9am–5pm
Tue 1 Mar
9am–5pm
Wed 2 Mar
9am–5pm
Thu 3 Mar
9am–5pm
Fri 4 Mar
9am–5pm
Sat 5 Mar
9am–5pm
Sun 6 Mar
9am–5pm
Mon 7 Mar
9am–5pm
Tue 8 Mar
9am–5pm
Wed 9 Mar
9am–5pm
Thu 10 Mar
9am–5pm
Fri 11 Mar
9am–5pm
Sat 12 Mar
9am–5pm
Sun 13 Mar
9am–5pm
Mon 14 Mar
9am–5pm
Tue 15 Mar
9am–5pm
Wed 16 Mar
9am–5pm
Thu 17 Mar
9am–5pm
Fri 18 Mar
9am–5pm
Sat 19 Mar
9am–5pm
Sun 20 Mar
9am–5pm
Mon 21 Mar
9am–5pm
Tue 22 Mar
9am–5pm
Wed 23 Mar
9am–5pm
Thu 24 Mar
9am–5pm
Fri 25 Mar
9am–5pm
Sat 26 Mar
9am–5pm
Sun 27 Mar
9am–5pm
Mon 28 Mar
9am–5pm
Tue 29 Mar
9am–5pm
Wed 30 Mar
9am–5pm
Thu 31 Mar
9am–5pm
Fri 1 Apr
9am–5pm
Sat 2 Apr
9am–5pm
Sun 3 Apr
9am–5pm
Mon 4 Apr
9am–5pm
Tue 5 Apr
9am–5pm
Wed 6 Apr
9am–5pm
Thu 7 Apr
9am–5pm
Fri 8 Apr
9am–5pm
Sat 9 Apr
9am–5pm
Sun 10 Apr
9am–5pm
Mon 11 Apr
9am–5pm
Tue 12 Apr
9am–5pm
Wed 13 Apr
9am–5pm
Thu 14 Apr
9am–5pm
Fri 15 Apr
9am–5pm
Sat 16 Apr
9am–5pm
Sun 17 Apr
9am–5pm
Mon 18 Apr
9am–5pm
Tue 19 Apr
9am–5pm
Wed 20 Apr
9am–5pm
Thu 21 Apr
9am–5pm
Fri 22 Apr
9am–5pm
Sat 23 Apr
9am–5pm
Sun 24 Apr
9am–5pm
Mon 25 Apr
9am–5pm
Tue 26 Apr
9am–5pm
Wed 27 Apr
9am–5pm
Thu 28 Apr
9am–5pm
Fri 29 Apr
9am–5pm
Sat 30 Apr
9am–5pm
Sun 1 May
9am–5pm
Mon 2 May
9am–5pm
Tue 3 May
9am–5pm
Wed 4 May
9am–5pm
Thu 5 May
9am–5pm
Fri 6 May
9am–5pm
Sat 7 May
9am–5pm
Sun 8 May
9am–5pm
Mon 9 May
9am–5pm
Tue 10 May
9am–5pm
Wed 11 May
9am–5pm
Thu 12 May
9am–5pm
Fri 13 May
9am–5pm
Sat 14 May
9am–5pm
Sun 15 May
9am–5pm
Mon 16 May
9am–5pm
Tue 17 May
9am–5pm
Wed 18 May
9am–5pm
Thu 19 May
9am–5pm
Fri 20 May
9am–5pm
Sat 21 May
9am–5pm
Sun 22 May
9am–5pm
Mon 23 May
9am–5pm
Tue 24 May
9am–5pm
Wed 25 May
9am–5pm
Thu 26 May
9am–5pm
Fri 27 May
9am–5pm
Sat 28 May
9am–5pm
Sun 29 May
9am–5pm
Mon 30 May
9am–5pm
Tue 31 May
9am–5pm
Wed 1 Jun
9am–5pm
Thu 2 Jun
9am–5pm
Fri 3 Jun
9am–5pm
Sat 4 Jun
9am–5pm
Sun 5 Jun
9am–5pm
Mon 6 Jun
9am–5pm
Tue 7 Jun
9am–5pm
Wed 8 Jun
9am–5pm
Thu 9 Jun
9am–5pm
Fri 10 Jun
9am–5pm
Sat 11 Jun
9am–5pm
Sun 12 Jun
9am–5pm
Mon 13 Jun
9am–5pm
Tue 14 Jun
9am–5pm
Wed 15 Jun
9am–5pm
Thu 16 Jun
9am–5pm
Fri 17 Jun
9am–5pm
Sat 18 Jun
9am–5pm
Sun 19 Jun
9am–5pm
Mon 20 Jun
9am–5pm
Tue 21 Jun
9am–5pm
Wed 22 Jun
9am–5pm
Thu 23 Jun
9am–5pm
Fri 24 Jun
9am–5pm
Sat 25 Jun
9am–5pm
Sun 26 Jun
9am–5pm
Mon 27 Jun
9am–5pm
Tue 28 Jun
9am–5pm
Wed 29 Jun
9am–5pm
Thu 30 Jun
9am–5pm
Fri 1 Jul
9am–5pm
Sat 2 Jul
9am–5pm
Sun 3 Jul
9am–5pm
Mon 4 Jul
9am–5pm
Tue 5 Jul
9am–5pm
Wed 6 Jul
9am–5pm
Thu 7 Jul
9am–5pm
Fri 8 Jul
9am–5pm
Sat 9 Jul
9am–5pm
Sun 10 Jul
9am–5pm
Mon 11 Jul
9am–5pm
Tue 12 Jul
9am–5pm
Wed 13 Jul
9am–5pm
Thu 14 Jul
9am–5pm
Fri 15 Jul
9am–5pm
Sat 16 Jul
9am–5pm
Sun 17 Jul
9am–5pm