Queensland Writers Fellowships

Each year since 2013, three Queensland authors have been awarded a Queensland Writers Fellowship to produce new work and progress their careers. The fellowships offer a $15,000 cash prize and career development funds up to the value of $4,500 administered by the Queensland Writers Centre. 

Queensland Writers Fellowships elevate authors with targeted support, and the time and money to write their next book, invest in their creative practice, and reach new audiences. 

About the Queensland Writers Fellowships

Applicants to the Queensland Writers Fellowships submit a plan for a 12-month writing project to work on for a calendar year. Applicants must be Queensland residents, or born in Queensland and able to demonstrate continuing strong ties with the state. A submission will include a proposal and project plan that clearly identifies the key project outcomes across the 12-month Fellowship period. Project plans, budget and milestones are assessed by an experienced judging panel, as part of the Queensland Literary Awards. 

Applicants can be emerging or established writers in any genre. 

Queensland Writers Centre (QWC) manages the professional development component, devising a plan with each author for the calendar year of their Fellowship. The goal is to map out professional development that enhances a writer's current work in a tangible way, helps them meet their project milestones, and enriches their overall practice.

Past Fellows have enlisted the help of QWC staff help to find one-on-one mentors, attend short courses, travel for research trips, attend a writers' festival, or take up a writing residency. 

How to apply

The Queensland Writers Fellowships are run as part of the annual Queensland Literary Awards. Detailed information, eligibility, terms and conditions, and application forms can be found in the official Award guidelines each year. 

Nominations for the Queensland Literary Awards usually open in March each year. 

Current and past Fellows

Melissa Ashley
'The Celebrated Bodies of Anna Morandi' 

Geneve Flynn
'The Red Dowager: All Debts Must be Repaid’  

Mary-Rose MacColl 
‘In These Mountains’  

Tabitha Bird
‘The Healing Giggle of Wonder’  

Ella Jeffery
‘Split Level’

Kali Napier
‘Preserving: Stories’ 

Sara El Sayed 
'The Blind Pussy Cat' 

Anna Jacobson
'Anxious in a Sweet Store' 

Amanda Niehaus 

Claire Christian
The Invisibles

Sarah Holland-Batt 
‘Spiral Separator’ 

Emily O’Grady 

Michael Gerard Bauer
‘Gaps and Silences’ 

Laura Elvery 

Jackie Ryan
‘Alfred Russel Wallace: Optimist and Dissenter’

Zenobia Frost
‘Museum of Dwellings’ 

Linda Neil
‘People are Kind’ 

Mirandi Riwoe 
‘A Gold Mountain Woman’

Trent Jamieson 

Amanda O’Callaghan 

Pamela Rushby

Inga Simpson 

Krissy Kneen 

Karen Foxlee

Sophie Overett 

Ellen van Neerven  

David Stavanger  

Jack Vening (Young Writers Fellowship)

Patrick Holland 

Kristina Olsson  

Angela Slatter

The Queensland Writers Fellowships are supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and the State Library of Queensland.