Young Writers Award


The Young Writers Award is an annual short story competition for Queensland residents aged 18 to 25 with a 20-year legacy of celebrating and showcasing emerging Queensland voices.

Many winners and runners up have gone on to publish books and achieve national and international literary success. 


  • First prize: $2,500, plus publication in Griffith Review, Australia's leading literary journal 
  • Runner up: $500, plus publication on the State Library website 
  • Highly commended: membership to Queensland Writers Centre


Winners announced!

State Library of Queensland is delighted to announce that this year’s winner is Tristan Hurree, 20, from Kedron.



  • Teacups by Zarin Nuzhat


  • An Argument in a Car by Samuel Hoare
  • The Grandstand by Holly Mazzola


Judges’ comments

“The winning stories stood out for their sense of authenticity. The voices were engaging and thoughtfully crafted, yet it was the vividly-drawn characters that rendered each piece successful. The character-based stories all interrogated the internal and emotional lives of their protagonists in unique and interesting ways, and each writer narrowed the scope of their fictional narrative with confidence, which allowed each piece to feel fully-realised. Though the stories – like many in the shortlist – tackled familiar themes and ideas, they all carried an emotional weight which was expressed in subtle, restrained, and surprising ways. These accomplished stories all reveal young and talented writers of great potential.” 

Congratulations to Tristan, Zarin, Samuel and Holly! These four outstanding young writers will each receive a membership pack with Queensland Writers Centre.

Tristan's award-winning story is now published in Griffith Review

    Young Writers Award 2019 logo

    Congratulations to the 2019 winner, runner-up and highly commended writers. 

    Emily OGrady

    Meet the judges of the 2019 Young Writers Award. 


    Read stories by past winners from 1998 to now.