Queensland Writers Fellowships

Each year since 2013, three established Queensland authors have been awarded a Queensland Writers Fellowship to produce new work and progress their careers. The fellowships offer a $15,000 cash prize and career development support through the Queensland Writers Centre. The Queensland Writers Fellowships elevate Queensland authors by investing targeted support in extraordinary writers at the right time to support the production of new work. Some recent successes from the Queensland Writers Fellows are showcased below.

Laura Elvery (2018 Fellow)

Laura Elvery’s work has been published in Meanjin, Overland, The Big Issue Fiction Edition and Griffith Review. She has won the Josephine Ulrick Prize for Literature, the Margaret River Short Story Competition, the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize and the Fair Australia Prize for Fiction.

Laura has a PhD in Creative Writing. She also has two young children. She lives in Brisbane.

Laura’s proposed Fellowship project, Medallion, is a collection of short stories based on the lives, work and influence of the women who have been awarded the Nobel Prizes for science, beginning with Marie Curie’s first of two medals in 1903.  Medallion will be published by UQP in 2020.

An excerpt from the collection, 'Wingspan', was published in Griffith Review 58: Storied Lives.

The same year she received her Fellowship, UQP published Laura's debut short story collection, Trick of the Light; which shortlisted for the 2018 University of Southern Queensland Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection.

Mirandi Riwoe (2017 Fellow)

Mirandi Riwoe is a Brisbane-based writer. She has been shortlisted for Overland’s Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize, the Josephine Ulrick Short Story Prize, the Luke Bitmead Bursary and the Stella Prize, and longlisted for the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize and the CWA (UK) Dagger Awards. Her work has appeared in Review of  Australian Fiction, Rex, Peril and Shibboleth and Other Stories. She is the author of a novel, She be Damned, and a novella, The Fish Girl, which won the 2017 Seizure Viva La Novella Prize.

Mirandi’s proposed Fellowship project is a literary novel set in Queensland during the Gold Rush period of the 19th century. The completed novel, On Gold Mountain, will be published by UQP in 2020. An early excerpt of the piece, Gold Mountain Woman, appeared in Griffith Review 61: Who We Are (December 2018).

Amanda O'Callaghan (2016 Fellow)

Amanda O'Callaghan is an Australian writer. ​A former advertising executive, she has published and won awards in Australia, Ireland and the UK. She holds a PhD in English from The University of Queensland. 

Amanda’s proposed Fellowship project was to complete her debut short story collection, This Taste for Silence, which will be published by UQP in May 2019.

Since being awarded her Fellowship, Amanda has won the 2018 Flash500 Annual Short Story Competition and the 2017 Bath Flash Fiction Award, and has been shortlisted for the 2017 Bath Flash Fiction Award, the 2018 TSS Flash Fiction Award, the 2018 NFFD Micro Competition, the 2018 Doolin Flash Fiction Contest and the 2017 Bristol Short Story Prize.

Karen Foxlee (2015 Fellow)

Karen Foxlee spent most of her adult life working as a registered nurse while pursuing her secret dream of becoming a writer. Her young adult novels The Anatomy of Wings and The Midnight Dress have been published internationally to much acclaim. Her books for younger readers include Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy and A Most Magical Girl. She lives and writes in Queensland, Australia.

Karen’s proposed Fellowship project was to complete a young adult manuscript titled Lenny and the Giants. In 2018, this work was published to critical acclaim by Allen and Unwin as Lenny’s Book of Everything; it's due to be published by Knopf in the United States in April 2019.

Since being awarded her Fellowship, Karen had her second book for younger readers, A Most Magical Girl, published by Allen and Unwin in Australia, by Knopf Books in the United States and by Piccadilly Press in the United Kingdom. A Most Magical Girl won the 2017 Readings Children's Fiction Prize and was shortlisted for the 2017 Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Award. 

David Stavanger (2014 Fellow)

David Stavanger is a poet, performer, cultural producer and lapsed psychologist. In 2013 he won the Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize, resulting in the release of The Special (UQP, 2014), his first full-length collection of poetry, which was awarded the 2015 Wesley Michel Wright Poetry Prize. David was Co-Director of the Queensland Poetry Festival (2015–17) and is the Co-Editor of Verity LA’s Slot Machine, Australian Poetry Journal 8.2 Spoken and the forthcoming Solid Air: Collected Australian & New Zealand Spoken Word (UQP, 2019). He is sometimes known as Green Room-nominated spoken weird artist Ghostboy.

Since being awarded his Fellowship, David has been a finalist in the 2016 Newcastle Poetry Prize for his prose poem 'The Electric Journal'; received Australia Council funding for his forthcoming poetry collection, Case Notes; and been shortlisted for the 2019 Moth Poetry Prize (worth €10,000, or A$15,930) for his poem 'Octonaut'. He has also co-edited Spoken Air: Collected Australian & New Zealand Spoken Word, which will be published by UQP in 2019.

Apply for a fellowship

Apply for a Queensland Writers Fellowship in 2019. Applications close 30 June. 

The Queensland Writers Fellowships are supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and the State Library of Queensland.