Queensland Literary Awards Frequently Asked Questions

For the published book categories, books published between 1 May 2020 and 30 April 2021 inclusive will be eligible. 

No. This category is open to all eligible Australian authors. Authors do not need to be based in Queensland to be eligible for this award. However, eligible works should have content primarily focused on documenting important Queensland stories, history or voices. In addition, any work by a Queensland author could be deemed of state significance if it has increased the awareness and profile of Queensland writing.  

Yes. Self-published books are eligible for the Published Book Award categories as long as the book and the author meet the general eligibility criteria and the category-specific eligibility criteria. Read the 2021 Guidelines for Published Book Awards for full details.

Generally, to be eligible published books must:

  • be first published between 1 May 2020 and 30 April 2021 inclusive
  • have an ISBN
  • be published as a print book, or a digital book
  • be first published, or publicly released, in English
  • be available for general sale in Australia.

The spirit of the unpublished manuscript awards is to support emerging writers to complete and publish their first significant book.   

For the purpose of the unpublished manuscript awards, an emerging writer is defined as a writer that has not had a commercial publication of any significant written work (book, published script/play, collection of poetry or short stories) by a trade publisher or other conventional publisher. The emerging writer has also not previously self-published a full-length work with an ISBN. 

Emerging writers must not have an existing binding publishing contract for a full-length work or be in current contractual negotiations. 

State Library and the judging panels will make the final decision on a nomination’s eligibility. 

Authors who have previously published individual short stories, poems, articles or essays in magazines, journals, anthologies or newspapers in print or online are eligible to enter the unpublished manuscript awards. 

Authors that have published or self-published a full-length work are not considered emerging writers for these awards, but may be eligible for the published book award categories.  

Yes. You must meet the author requirements for both of these award categories. Refer to the 2021 Guidelines for Development Awards for specific eligibility information.   

No. Judges do not provide feedback on individual nominations.

Please contact the writers centre in your state for information, advice and support. 

Queensland Writers Centre is available by contacting admin@qldwriters.org.au

For Published Book Award categories, a fee of $50 (including GST) applies per entry. 

A $10 Early Bird discount is available for nominations received in March. Some fee-exemptions may be available to eligible authors. 

No fees apply for Development Award entries. 

Yes. Please contact State Library of Queensland at qla@slq.qld.gov.au to arrange alternative payment options. 

A fee exemption is available for one nomination only, if the author of the nominated work holds one of the following valid Australian concession cards: 

  • Pensioner Concession Card 

  • Health Care Card or Low Income Health Care Card 

  • tertiary student card  

  • Veteran Card issued by the Australian Department of Veteran Affairs.  

Photocopied proof of the author’s status as a current card holder must be submitted with the copies of the nominated books or the nomination will not be eligible for judging. 

Please note that Seniors Card are no longer eligible for a concession entry. 

Only one fee-exemption nomination may be entered. Further nominations will be subject to nomination fees. For requests for further fee-exempt nominations due to financial hardship, please email your written request to qla@slq.qld.gov.au for consideration. 

To complete your nomination, please upload proof of concession with the online form, or provide a photocopy of the eligible card inside the package when sending five copies of your nominated book. 

If a concession applies to your entry, use the Published Book Award – concession online nomination form. 

Yes. You can nominate the same book in different categories as long as the book and the author meet the general eligibility criteria and the category-specific eligibility criteria for each category. 

 For the published book awards – fee paying and published book awards – concession nomination forms: 

  • You will need to complete a separate nomination for each category you wish to enter. You may submit up to 10 nominations on each online form.  

  • You will need to supply five copies of the nominated book for each category and pay the nomination fee for each category. Please note that if an author is eligible for a concession entry, only one (1) entry is fee-exempt and the rest are fee-paying. 

  • For electronic nominations, send only one USB containing the three separate file versions of the book’s digital file (.ePub, .mobi and PDF formats). 

If you are a publisher nominating a number of books for the awards, you have the option to include up to ten (10) titles per online form and pay all the nomination fees by credit card in one lump sum.

Please contact State Library of Queensland on qla@slq.qld.gov.au to arrange alternative payment options. 

If you are nominating your own book, list yourself as the nominator and author.

The nominator can also be a publisher, agent or interested third party. In this case, please put your own contact details (not the author's). Nominators must seek permission from the author before nominating their book. 

All further information and correspondence about the nomination will be with the nominator.

Yes. You can hand-deliver books to the Welcome Desk on Level 1 at State Library of Queensland, Stanley Place, South Brisbane between 10am and 5pm.

Please clearly mark the package: Attn. Queensland Literary Awards, State Library of Queensland.

You must still complete other requirements online. It may take two weeks to process your entry after delivery.

You will receive an email confirmation once your nomination is complete.

Please do not deliver entries to the Queensland Writers Centre on Level 2.

No. All authors, co-authors, co-creators and illustrators must be: 

  • Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia for a minimum period of three years prior to the closing date for nominations 

  • at least 18 years of age, or provide written consent from a parent or guardian to nominate 

  • living at the date of nomination. 

No. Books and manuscripts submitted as part of your nomination will not be returned.

The copies supplied with the nomination are distributed to the category judges for assessing the nomination, and one copy is kept by State Library of Queensland for a record of the nominations. 

At the end of the awards cycle, State Library may use selected books to build collections. Any remaining books are donated to charity. 

Shortlisted books and finalists 

Shortlists will be announced in August 2021. 

All nominators will be notified by email prior to the shortlist being announced. Note: there is no shortlist for the Queensland Writers Fellowships. 



The winners in all categories will be announced at the awards ceremony in September.