Queensland Literary Awards

The Queensland Literary Awards celebrate and promote outstanding Australian writers. State Library of Queensland proudly manages the awards in collaboration with sponsors, industry partners and the writing community.

About the awards

The awards include 10 national prizes for published books by Australian authors, plus prizes for unpublished manuscripts and Queensland writers.

The 2018 Queensland Literary Awards ceremony was held on 23 October — congratulations to the winners and finalists! The 2019 awards will open in April.

Follow the Queensland Literary Awards on Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news and updates.

You can also contact the Queensland Literary Awards on 07 3840 7415 or qla@slq.qld.gov.au.

How to enter

Find out how to enter the Queensland Literary Awards.

Queensland Literary Awards how to enter

Winners and finalists

Congratulations to the 2018 Queensland Literary Awards winners and finalists.


Media releases

Read the latest Queensland Literary Awards media releases.

Queensland Literary Awards judges


View information about the Queensland Literary Awards judges.

Major partners

Category sponsors

Principal benefactors

The Glendower Award for an Emerging Queensland Writer is supported by Jenny Summerson through the Queensland Library Foundation.

A Queensland Writers Fellowship is supported by Crowd Giving 2018 donors through the Queensland Library Foundation.