Young Writers Awards 2022 Judges

Jack Vening (Chair) Jack Vening is a writer of short fiction from Canberra whose work has been published widely in Australia and abroad, most recently in the short story anthologies New Australian Fiction 2020 and 2022.

Jasmin McGaughey is a Torres Strait Islander and African American writer and editor. She was lucky enough to be a black&write! editor intern and a Wheeler Centre Next Chapter recipient in 2019. She has been able to write for Overland, Kill Your Darlings, SBS Voices and Griffith Review. Jasmin is also the author of Ash Barty’s Little Ash Series

Julie Koh is the author of Capital Misfits and Portable Curiosities. She was named a 2017 Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Australian Novelist. Her short stories have been published widely, including in the Best Australian Stories and Best Australian Comedy Writing. She has written two radio plays for ABC Radio National and the libretto for the opera Chop Chef. She has also judged several literary awards including the 2018 Stella Prize and the 2022 Steele Rudd Award.

Lauren Mitchell is an editor from North Queensland. She has worked with a range of publishers and journals including UQP, Magabala Books, Griffith Review and Overland. Lauren holds Bachelors of Arts (English Literature) and Journalism from the University of Queensland and a Master of Arts (Writing, Editing and Publishing), also from UQ. She is currently based in Naarm.