Heritage collections explored online at Dalby
Just like Ludwig Leichhardt who visited Dalby in 1844, State Library staff will set out some 170 years later to explore ways to make the region’s rich heritage accessible to all. This month, as part of social media training, heritage collectors from museums, galleries, archives and libraries from the region will gather to share historical information in a two-day workshop to be held at Dalby Library. The focus is on making this part of Queensland’s heritage available to all via online social media platforms. Out of copyright digitised materials from State Library can also be used freely to increase access and to bring attention to the rich Dalby history.
By 1854, Dalby was made a township and by 1859 became part of the new state of Queensland. State Library has digitised maps from that era that not only depict the region but also provide names and owners of stations. An early map that has recently been digitised is entitled Town of Dalby, County of Aubigny, New South Wales, 1857. This shows the layout of the town of Dalby just three years after the township was formed and includes land set aside for “public recreation.”
Another digitised map is the 6263 William Henry Binsted Historical Map. Created by Binsted, this lovely sketch map of Canning Downs Station on the Darling Downs, is executed in Indian ink and watercolour ca. 1865. The map shows in detail all subdivisions with lot numbers, the locations and names of the numerous individual sheep stations, as well as notes on vegetation and geography.
The workshop will explore which social media platforms work best for stakeholders interested in accessing heritage collections about the Dalby area. Creative Commons licensing is encouraged, as well as use of out of copyright material. Platforms to be reviewed include Flickr, Facebook, blogs, Historypin and SLQ’s Queensland Memory enewsletter.
C. Cottle - Digital Collection Curator, State Library of Queensland