Young Writers Award 2019 judges

Carody Culver is assistant editor at Griffith Review and a contributing editor and writer at Peppermint magazine. She was one of four winning editor-judges in Seizure’s Viva la Novella II competition. Her writing has appeared in Kill Your Darlings, The Lifted Brow, Junkee, Peppermint, Archer, The Toast and elsewhere. 

Shastra Deo is a poet, PhD candidate, and video game enthusiast living in Brisbane. Her first book, The Agonist (UQP 2017), won the 2016 Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize and the 2018 Australian Literature Society Gold Medal.

Emily O’Grady writing has appeared in Meanjin, Kill Your Darlings, Australian Poetry Journal, The Big Issue Fiction Edition, Southerly, and Award Winning Australian Writing. She holds a PhD in Creative Writing from QUT, and her first novel, The Yellow House, won the 2018 Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award. 

Khalid Warsame is a writer who lives in Melbourne. His essays, criticism, and fiction have appeared in The Lifted Brow, Overland, the Big Issue, The Saturday Paper, Cordite Poetry Review, and LitHub. He has previously edited fiction for The Lifted Brow, worked as a creative producer at the Footscray Community Arts Centre and Co-Directed the National Young Writers Festival.