The judging process

Each award category is assessed by a panel of independent judges.

Panels are made up of authors, critics, academics, publishers, media professionals, editors, librarians, reviewers, teachers, arts organisation representatives, booksellers and journalists.

Details of the 2019 Queensland Literary Awards judges will be available from July 2019.

What is the judging process?

  • Nominations are checked for eligibility by State Library of Queensland staff.
  • All eligible nominations are forwarded to the relevant judging panel.
  • Judges read and assess the nominations, deciding on a shortlist and one winner for each award category.
  • The judges award the category prize to the nomination deemed to possess the highest literary merit.
  • The shortlists are published on the State Library website in September. 
  • The winners are announced at an awards ceremony in November. 
  • The shortlist for The Courier-Mail People's Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award is selected by the judges from the eligible Queensland-authored nominations in The University of Queensland Fiction Book Award and The University of Queensland Non-Fiction Book Award categories. The winner of the People's Choice Award is determined by public vote.

Other judging information

  • Judges disclose any actual, potential or perceived conflicts of interest as soon as they become aware of them. The State Library of Queensland records all conflicts of interest. The conflict of interest is managed by the State Library, the panel chair and category judges in accordance with the conflict of interest framework established by the Queensland Literary Awards Reference Group.
  • Judging panels may request additional information from authors or nominators if they feel it is required. 
  • Judges have the right to move a nomination to a different category if they deem the category to be more relevant. 
  • The outcomes of the judging process are final and no discussion or correspondence will be entered into in regards to final award decisions or the judging process.
  • Queensland Literary Awards judges reserve the right not to award a prize in a category. 

If you have any questions about the Queensland Literary Awards judges, or the judging process, please contact