SLQ Young Writers Award

About the competition

There are two categories

  • Writers aged 18 - 25 (short stories up to 2,500 words)
  • Writers aged 15 - 17 (short stories up to 1,500 words)

For each category, the judging panel selects one winner and one runner up, along with four highly commended entries.

Details for the 2018 Young Writers Award including prizes and how to enter will be announced in early 2018.

Past winners

The YWA has a 20 year history of encouraging young Queensland writers. Past winners and runners up include authors Rebecca Jessen (Gap), Chris Somerville (We Are Not the Same Anymore), Benjamin Law (The Family Law), Tara June Winch (After the Carnage) and Romy Ash (Floundering).

View all the previous winners and read past winning stories

More information

Phone: 07 3840 7415

For more writing tips, visit Queensland Writers Centre or read some of the past winning stories.

Young Writers Award is presented by SLQ and supported by Queensland Writers Centre.

Events by type