Prize money boost for 2018 Queensland Literary Awards

Entries are now open for the prestigious Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) and Queensland Writers Fellowships, with total prize money increasing from $205,000 to $240,000.

Many of the prizes have increased from $10,000 to $15,000 and writers can also apply for one of three Queensland Writers Fellowships, funded through Arts Queensland and the State Library of Queensland to support professional development.

This year the awards will celebrate 30 years of the David Unaipon Award for an Unpublished Indigenous Writer and the second year of the QUT Digital Literature Award. Both awards now offer $15,000 prize money.

Nominations close 5pm on Thursday 31 May 2018, with winners announced at an awards ceremony in October.

Award categories

Open to all Australian writers:

  • Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance ($25,000)
  • The University of Queensland Fiction Book Award ($15,000)
  • The University of Queensland Non-fiction Book Award ($15,000)
  • Griffith University Children’s Book Award ($15,000)
  • Griffith University Young Adult Book Award ($15,000)
  • QUT Digital Literature Award ($15,000)
  • University of Southern Queensland History Book Award ($10,000)
  • University of Southern Queensland Short Story Collection - Steele Rudd Award ($10,000)
  • State Library of Queensland Poetry Collection - Judith Wright Calanthe Award ($10,000)
  • David Unaipon Award for an Unpublished Indigenous Writer ($15,000)

Open to Queensland writers only:

  • Glendower Award for an Emerging Queensland Writer ($15,000)
  • Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards (two awards of $12,500)
  • The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Award ($10,000)
  • Queensland Writers Fellowship (three awards of $15,000)

Quotes from the Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch:

“The Queensland Government supported the QLA to celebrate top writing talent, help share our stories, and nurture the next generation of writers.

"I’m pleased to note the success of the QLAs, and the Queensland Government’s commitment to match the sponsorship funding across the Queensland Literary Awards which has helped to generate more investment from the private sector.

"The Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance to the value of $25,000 has recognised the exceptional work of Queensland writers Bill Wilkie, Lesley and Tammy Williams and Libby Connors.”

Minister Enoch encouraged young writers under 30 years of age to apply for two Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards, each to the value of $12,500.

“These two awards are for young Queensland writers in traditional or contemporary forms.”

Quotes from the State Librarian and CEO Vicki McDonald:

“State Library is proud to support the Queensland Literary Awards which allow authors to showcase their work and provide pathways to develop sustainable careers in the literary field.

“We are grateful to have the continued support of key QLA partners including the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland, The University of Queensland, Griffith University, the University of Southern Queensland, QUT, Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, The Courier-Mail and Jenny Summerson.”

For more

Library membership

Become an SLQ member now to access our services, collections and facilities.

Library Shop online

Discover an eclectic range of books, gifts, reproduction prints and more at the Library Shop.