$2,000 on offer for Queensland’s next great young writer

Entries are now open for State Library of Queensland’s (SLQ) annual Young Writers Award competition, offering $2,000 for the best short story from a young writer.

Now in its 22nd year, the competition aims to launch the careers of the next generation of great Australian writers.

Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy Leeanne Enoch said the Young Writers Award has become an integral part of uncovering young, creative writing talent in Queensland.

“State Library’s Young Writers Award has a long history of finding the future stars of Queensland’s writing community and giving them a head-start — from Rebecca Jessen and Chris Somerville to Benjamin Law and Tara June Winch,” Minister Enoch said.

State Librarian and CEO Vicki McDonald said State Library hoped the competition would continue to foster young writers and introduce them to the publishing industry.

“The Young Writers Award helps writers find their voice, and gives them the confidence to work towards their literary aspirations,” Ms McDonald said.

“In 2017 we are also proud to announce the inaugural Young Writers Conference held at SLQ in November, at which competition entrants and other aspiring young writers will have the opportunity to partake in a full day of skill and knowledge-building workshops, advice and support giving, and networking.”

The 2017 winners of the Young Writers Award will be announced by Minister Enoch at an awards ceremony following the conference.

The competition is open to Queensland residents aged 15 to 25 years into two categories: 15 to 17 years (1,500 words) and 18 to 25 years (2,500 words).

The winner of the 18 to 25 years category receives $2,000 prize money, and the winner of the 15 to 17 years category receives $500.

Runners up and highly commended entrants are also awarded prizes including prize money, gift vouchers and book packs.

All prize winners also receive a membership to Queensland Writers Centre.

Visit slq.qld.gov.au/whats-on/awards for guidelines and entry forms, and to read past winning stories.

Entries close at 5pm on Thursday 31 August.

The Young Writers Award is presented by State Library of Queensland with support from Queensland Writers Centre.

Media enquiries:

Shahedah Sabdia, SLQ Communications

07 3842 9864 | communications@slq.qld.gov.au

Library membership

Become an SLQ member now to access our services, collections and facilities.

Library Shop online

Discover an eclectic range of books, gifts, reproduction prints and more at the Library Shop.