Queensland Literary Awards welcomes innovative digital literature prize in 2017

The Queensland Literary Awards today welcomes a new prize in 2017, celebrating digital literature in all forms.

Showcasing narrative innovation and new practice in contemporary literature by Australian writers, the QUT Digital Literature Award is an exciting new award that supports Queensland’s continued growth in the digital space.

Premier and Minister for the Arts Annastacia Palaszczuk welcomed the addition of a new digital literature award to the Queensland Literary Awards, which recognise outstanding writers, celebrate our stories and foster the next generation of writing talent across all literary genres and platforms.

“This new award recognises that increasingly our stories are not only told through the printed page, but are also published digitally, and read on our screens and devices.”

Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy Leeanne Enoch highlighted the importance of the award in showcasing innovation in publishing.

“Queensland is one of the global centres of innovation in digital writing and publishing, making this new prize a perfect addition to the major literary awards of our state,” Ms Enoch said.

“Digital media has given rise to new ways of telling stories and new devices through which readers can explore and fall in love with literature.”

State Librarian and CEO Vicki McDonald said State Library of Queensland is proud to present the Queensland Literary Awards, and thanked the Queensland University of Technology (QUT) for its generous sponsorship of this new award.

“Through QUT’s support, a cash prize of $10,000 has established the QUT Digital Literature Award as the world’s richest digital literary prize,” Ms McDonald said.

“In an increasingly digital world, State Library is focussed on enabling and supporting access to Queensland’s important stories of fact and fiction, both online as well as through the physical artefact.

“The QUT Digital Literature Award was established by State Library of Queensland to acknowledge contemporary publishing and digital innovation in storytelling.

“The Queensland Literary Awards demonstrate the strength of writing and publishing in Australia, and help to uncover and recognise the depth of creative talent we nurture here in Queensland.

“Queensland has always been home to a vibrant and passionate literary community and we are proud to continue supporting writing, publishing and reading, both in print and online,” Ms McDonald said.

The new annual award was announced today as part of the 2017 program for the Queensland Literary Awards, which will open for entries on 1 April.

The Queensland Literary Awards are presented by State Library of Queensland, and offer prizes for writers in thirteen categories across fiction, non-fiction and poetry for published and unpublished work.

The Queensland Literary Awards are supported by the Queensland Government, The University of Queensland, Griffith University, The University of Southern Queensland, QUT, Copyright Agency Limited Cultural Fund and The Courier-Mail.

Full guidelines and entry details for all categories of the 2017 Queensland Literary Awards, including the new award, are available now at qldliteraryawards.org.au/about/guidelines. Entries open at 9am on Saturday 1 April.

Media contact
Shahedah Sabdia
communications@slq.qld.gov.au | 07 3842 9084

Library membership

Become an SLQ member now to access our services, collections and facilities.

Library Shop online

Discover an eclectic range of books, gifts, reproduction prints and more at the Library Shop.