Queensland Literary Awards open for nominations to celebrate home grown writing talent

Australian authors are encouraged to nominate for the 2016 Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) and Queensland Writers Fellowships.

Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy Leeanne Enoch said programs such as the Queensland Literary Awards showcase the depth of creativity in Queensland’s talented writers.

“As a former English teacher and an avid reader, I’m thrilled to see the vibrancy of our state’s literary talent,” Ms Enoch said.

“State Library of Queensland leads the way in nurturing a culture of reading, writing and ideas in Queensland – something that is critical to driving an innovative and inclusive community.

“Through hosting these awards, State Library is creating opportunities for emerging writers to develop work for publication and secure careers in the creative industries.

“The QLA play an important role in discovering local writers and sharing their work with international audiences.”

CEO and State Librarian Mrs Sonia Cooper paid tribute to the many organisations that support and champion the Queensland Literary Awards.

“We are grateful to have the continued support of key QLA partners including The University of Queensland, Griffith University, the University of Southern Queensland, Claire Booth, the Copyright Agency Limited Cultural Fund and The Courier-Mail,” Mrs Cooper said.

Nominations for the 2016 awards are being sought in the following categories:

  • Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance ($25,000)
  • The University of Queensland Fiction Book Award ($10,000)
  • The University of Queensland Non-fiction Book Award ($10,000)
  • Griffith University Young Adult Book Award ($10,000)
  • Griffith University Children’s Book Award ($10,000)
  • University of Southern Queensland History Book Award ($10,000)
  • University of Southern Queensland Australian Short Story Collection – Steele Rudd Award ($10,000)
  • State Library of Queensland Poetry Collection – Judith Wright Calanthe Award ($10,000)
  • Unpublished Indigenous Writer - David Unaipon Award (supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund and University of Queensland Press) ($10,000)
  • Emerging Queensland Writer – Manuscript Award (supported by the University of Queensland Press) ($10,000)
  • The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award ($10,000)

The Awards also encompass the Queensland Writers Fellowships, worth $15,000, awarded to three Queensland writers each year for professional development.

Nominations for the Queensland Literary Awards close on 3 June 2016. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in October.

For more information about the Queensland Literary Awards and Queensland Writers Fellowships or to access nomination forms, see www.qldliteraryawards.org.au

Media enquiries:
Kate Allen, SLQ Communications
07 3840 7897 | kate.allen@slq.qld.gov.au

Library membership

Become an SLQ member now to access our services, collections and facilities.

Library Shop online

Discover an eclectic range of books, gifts, reproduction prints and more at the Library Shop.