A new chapter for Queensland Literary Awards

Entries are now open for the 2014 Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) under a new arrangement which sees State Library of Queensland take leadership of the program.

QLA is a community driven awards program which nurtures and celebrates the talent and achievements of Australian writers.

State Librarian Janette Wright said that State Library will collaborate with the QLA Committee and supporting partners to continue the work of the awards program in its third year.

“Whilst State Library will take a leadership role in managing the QLA program, we will continue the collaborative model established through the hard work and dedication of the QLA Committee, volunteers, partners and supporting community members over the past two years.”

“We are excited to have the continued support of key QLA partners including the University of Queensland, Griffith University, the University of Southern Queensland, the Copyright Agency Limited Cultural Fund and The Courier-Mail,” Ms Wright said.

“The Queensland Literary Awards complement our existing awards programs – the Young Writers Award and the black&write! Indigenous Writing Fellowships and Indigenous Editing Mentorships.”

“Queenslanders are avid readers and writers, with 84% of people reading or engaging in some form of creative writing. State Library is delighted to play a role in not only nurturing this interest throughout the state, but also applauding those who excel at writing through this prestigious awards program.”

“Programs such as the QLA are key in drawing out our most unique and captivating literary voices, and sharing them with the world. We’re excited to see what this year’s entries will produce,” Ms Wright said.

Arts Minister Ian Walker said aspiring Queensland writers could also apply for a new $10,000 Queensland Premier’s Young Writers Fellowship or one of three 2014 Queensland Writers Fellowships worth $15,000 each.

“The aim of these fellowships is to discover and encourage new writing talent,” Mr Walker said. “The Premier’s fellowship is specifically for young Queensland writers under 30, to help young talent find their feet.  We want to provide opportunities for talented Queensland writers who are looking for support to finish their manuscripts to get the help upfront when it is needed.”

Nominations for the Queensland Literary Awards and Fellowships close on 19 September 2014 and winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in December.

Information about the awards, the Queensland Premier’s Young Writers Fellowship, Queensland Writers Fellowships and nomination forms are available at www.qldliteraryawards.org.au

2014 Queensland Literary Award categories are:

  • University of Queensland Fiction Book Award
  • University of Queensland Non-fiction Book Award
  • Griffith University Young Adult Book Award
  • Griffith University Children’s Book Award
  • University of Southern Queensland History Book Award
  • University of Southern Queensland Australian Short Story Collection – Steele Rudd Award
  • State Library of Queensland Poetry Collection – Judith Wright Calanthe Award
  • Unpublished Indigenous Writer - David Unaipon Award (supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund and University of Queensland Press)
  • Emerging Queensland Writer – Manuscript Award (supported by the University of Queensland Press)
  • The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book for the Year

Media enquiries: Alexia Saeck, SLQ Communications, 07 3840 7784 | alexia.saeck@slq.qld.gov.au

Library membership

Become an SLQ member now to access our services, collections and facilities.

Library Shop online

Discover an eclectic range of books, gifts, reproduction prints and more at the Library Shop.