Library Board of Queensland welcomes new members

State Librarian Janette Wright today welcomed Professor Jan Thomas as the new Chair of the Library Board of Queensland.

Ms Wright said, “The State Library is internationally recognised as a 21st century library and we’re looking forward to working with Professor Thomas and the newly constituted Board as we progress our vision for the future.”

“Professor Thomas has had a distinguished academic career including senior roles at Murdoch University, the University of Notre Dame Australia – and now as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Southern Queensland. I am also delighted that we have a strong advocate for regional Queensland on the Board.”

Also joining the Board this year are Heather Linaker, Professor Andrew Griffiths (University of Queensland) and Adjunct Professor (University of the Sunshine Coast) Joan Sheldon AM.

Ms Wright said the new members each brought valuable skills to the Board.

“Ms Linaker brings a wealth of experience from the publishing sector after 19 years at John Wiley & Sons including over two years as Managing Director of the Australian operations,” she said.

Professor Andrew Griffiths will bring a range of valuable business skills including corporate sustainability and change to the Board and to State Library of Queensland.”

“Professor Griffiths is Academic Dean and Head of School at University of Queensland Business School,” she said.

“After a successful career in government, champion of the Arts Adjunct Professor Sheldon will also join the Board this year.”

Arts Minister Ian Walker welcomed the appointments of the new Chair and board members.

“I am confident the new Library Board will lead the State Library to continued success in partnering with Queensland communities and providing access to information and knowledge for Queenslanders to support our Arts for all Queenslanders strategy,” Mr Walker said.

Mr Walker thanked Professor Emeritus Roly Sussex OAM who has served in the role of Chair since 2009 and will continue with the Library Board as a member.

“I acknowledge Roly’s outstanding leadership as Chair. His experience will continue to serve the Library Board well,” Mr Walker said.

Mr Walker thanked outgoing board members Helen Brodie, Ruth Drinkwater, Maxwell Lenoy, Lynette McLaughlin, Jane Power and Professor Stuart Cunningham for their significant contribution to the State Library’s many achievements.

Reappointed members of the Library Board of Queensland include linguistics expert Professor Roly Sussex (The University of Queensland), Scott Reid (Regional Manager Queensland/Northern Territory/Papua New Guinea, Cisco Systems), Matthew McDonnell (Partner, KPMG), and Dr Grace Sarra (Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Education, Queensland University of Technology).

Media enquiries: Cathy Stacey, SLQ Communications
07 3842 9346 |

Library membership

Become an SLQ member now to access our services, collections and facilities.

Library Shop online

Discover an eclectic range of books, gifts, reproduction prints and more at the Library Shop.