Indigenous Knowledge Centres

Indigenous Knowledge Centres (IKCs) are owned, managed and staffed by local Aboriginal councils or the Torres Strait Island Regional Council. State Library of Queensland funds and facilitates the establishment of these centres, and provides ongoing support through staff training and delivery of programs to sustain knowledge transfer.

There is a network of 25 IKCs in remote and regional communities: across Cape York, the Northern Peninsula Area, the islands of the Torres Strait, Central Queensland and at Cherbourg in south east Queensland.


  • empower communities through new technologies, literacy and learning
  • embrace local knowledge, culture and heritage
  • share experience from a rich and dynamic Indigenous world... keeping culture strong for generations.

IKC locations

Southern Queensland

Cherbourg (Winifred Fisher Knowledge Centre)

Central Queensland


North Queensland

Palm Island (Bwgcolman Indigenous Knowledge Centre)

Cape York and the Northern Peninsula Area

Hope Vale
Lockhart River
New Mapoon
Wujal Wujal

Torres Strait

Badu (Mulgrave Island)
Boigu (Talbot Island)
Dauan (Mt Cornwallis Island)
Erub (Darnley Island)
Kiriri (Hammond Island)
Iama (Yam Island)
Kubin Village, Moa Island (Banks Island)
Mabuiag (Jervis Island)
Poruma (Coconut Island)
Warraber (Sue Island)

The Directory of Queensland public libraries gives more information for each IKC.

Library membership

Become an SLQ member now to access our services, collections and facilities.

Library Shop online

Discover an eclectic range of books, gifts, reproduction prints and more at the Library Shop.