Library Board of Queensland

The Library Board is the governing body of State Library of Queensland and draws its powers from the Libraries Act 1988 [PDF 470kb]. The object of this Act is to contribute to the cultural, social and intellectual development of all Queenslanders.

The Library Board is governed by the Library Board of Queensland Governance Framework  (PDF 333.2 KB) and has adopted a Code of Conduct [PDF 211 KB] which all members uphold and which has been approved by the responsible Minister.

The Library Board is committed to improving access to information and knowledge for all Queenslanders. The Board periodically meets outside of Brisbane to keep informed about local issues and to strengthen relationships with local councils and the community.


Professor Andrew Griffiths (Chairperson)

Andrew Griffiths is the Executive Dean, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law at The University of Queensland.

Andrew has been a member of the Library Board since March 2014.
Professor Griffiths is an internationally recognised scholar with his works published in The Academy of Management Review and the Journal of Management Studies.

He completed his PhD in September 2000 and also holds the Chair in Business Sustainability and Strategy. His areas of research include: the management of corporate change and innovation, strategic issues relating to the pursuit of corporate sustainability and innovation.

He has published four books, The Sustainable Corporation (1998), Sustainability (2000), Corporate Sustainability and Innovation (2004) and Organisational Change for Sustainability (2006) (with Dexter Dunphy and Sue Benn).

Ms Linda Apelt

Linda Apelt has extensive experience government and corporate environments, including 14 years as Director-General of large and complex human services organisations.

Professor Tom Cochrane AM

Tom Cochrane AM was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his service to library and information management, and to education through electronic learning initiatives.

Dr Anita Heiss

Dr Anita Heiss is a prolific author of non-fiction, historical fiction, commercial women's fiction, poetry, social commentary and travel articles. She is currently an Adjunct Professor with Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning, University Technology Sydney.

Professor Marek Kowalkiewicz

Marek Kowalkiewicz is the inaugural Chair in Digital Economy at QUT and is an academic and industry leader with extensive experience in conducting academically sound research in the digital economy field and delivering innovative products to the market.

Cr Julia Leu

Julia Leu is the Mayor of Douglas Shire, having been elected in November 2013 after serving nearly six years as an independent Councillor with Cairns Regional Council.

Councillor Leu is also Director of Tourism Port Douglas Daintree and Terrain Natural Resource Management, a Queensland Executive Member of the Australian Coastal Councils Association, a Committee Member of Regional Development Australia (Far North Queensland & Torres Strait Inc) and an Executive Member of the North Queensland Local Government Association.

Councillor Leu holds a Masters in Business Administration from James Cook University, a Bachelor of Arts and Graduate Diploma in Education from Melbourne University and a Graduate Diploma in Communications from NSW University of Technology. Her wide experience has included running her own business, being a secondary teacher, lecturer and senior Commonwealth employee in Indigenous, health, housing and community services.

Mr Malcolm McMillan

Malcom McMillan has over 40 years experience across the public and not for profit sectors with a strong stakeholder engagement focus as well as demonstrated success in corporate governance development and Indigenous coexistence and collaboration.

Dr Sandra Philips

Dr Sandra Phillips is a publisher, editor and academic who currently lectures in editing and publishing studies at Creative Industries Faculty of the Queensland University of Technology, as well as serving on the Advisory Board of the State Library of Queensland’s black&write! Indigenous Editing and Writing Program.

Mr Bob Shead

Bob Shead has over 40 years public and private sector experience and specialises in public finance, financial management, governance, audit and risk management and policy development, implementation and evaluation.

In attendance

Ms Vicki McDonald, State Librarian and Chief Executive Officer

The State Librarian is responsible for the proper and sound management of State Library of Queensland, under the authority of the Library Board of Queensland. The State Librarian provides strategic advice and direction to the Library Board; plans and develops new initiatives, services and programs; manages the resources of the State Library; initiates strategic partnerships and leads the State Library of Queensland.

Under the Libraries Act 1988 (Queensland) [PDF 470 KB], the State Librarian must attend all meetings of the Board unless excused or precluded by the Board.

Library Board committee

The Library Board has appointed an Audit and Risk Management Committee to advise and inform the Library Board on issues that arise within the scope of the committee.

Library Board advisory groups

The Library Board appoints a number of advisory groups which, while not undertaking the functions of the Board, provide strategic advice and act as a consultative arm. These groups are currently:

Library membership

Become an SLQ member now to access our services, collections and facilities.

Library Shop online

Discover an eclectic range of books, gifts, reproduction prints and more at the Library Shop.